Statement



The beginning of my video performances, 2005, can be understood retrospectively as a reaction to the expanding virtualisation of social reality. Subsequently under „masking“ in the broadest sense, I developed various types of medium/form relations by aesthetical strategies, probing the depths between the aspects of concealment and the infusion with performative content.

This also applies to those works in which, in addition to various art-immanent topoi, painting is negotiated as a dispositive in the dispositive of art. In a world increasingly opened up by cognitive science, articulations of art can only be realized with a high degree of probability of surprise and uncertainty. One of its functions is „the provision of a potential for self-observation that can be masked and applied at any time by setting objectives” (Dirk Baecker 2007).

In the age of „surveillance capitalism” (Shoshana Zuboff 2018), where in new markets people are suppliers of behavioral data or the source of a free resource, „everyone, whether intentional or not, is a performance artist and network publicist – even if only by transferring his rent” (Florian Cramer 2015).

Statement



Der Beginn meiner Videoperformances, 2005, lässt sich rückblickend als Reaktion auf die expandierende Virtualisierung des Sozialen verstehen. In der Folge entstanden unter „Maskierung“ im weitesten Sinne, via ästhetischer Strategien unterschiedliche Medium/Form-Relationen zwischen Verbergen und performativem Ausfüllen.

Das gilt auch für jene Arbeiten, in denen neben diversen kunstimmanenten Topoi, die Malerei als Dispositiv im Dispositiv der Kunst verhandelt wird. In einer zunehmend kognitionswissenschaftlich erschlossenen Welt können Artikulationen der Kunst nur mit einem hohen Maß an Überraschungs- und Unbestimmtheitswahrscheinlichkeiten realisiert werden. Eine ihrer Funktionen ist „die Bereitstellung eines Potenzials der Selbstbeobachtung, das jederzeit durch Zwecksetzungen sowohl maskiert als auch angewandt genutzt werden kann“ (Dirk Baecker 2007).

Im Zeitalter des „Überwachungskapitalismus“ (Shoshana Zuboff 2018), wo auf neuen Märkten die Menschen Lieferanten von Verhaltensdaten bzw. Quelle eines kostenlosen Rohstoffs sind, ist „jede und jeder, ob gewollt oder nicht, Performancekünstler und Netzpublizist – und sei es nur durchs Überweisen seiner Miete“ (Florian Cramer 2015).